Heather Dreams in Technicolour

4″ x 6″ is a Challenging Challenge

Heather Dreams in Technicolour by Heather Gailey May 2012

I decided to join the Arthouse Coop site because of the exciting mini projects they have all the time. Over the winter they send emails about what is happening and you either join up or not depending if it is something you are interested in or not. You have to be quick though because if you snooze you lose out. They only set 1000 to 2000 spots for each project and they can be gone as fast as RUSH concert tickets being released through Ticket Master.

Explanation of the 4″ x 6″ project in the words of  Arthouse Coop                                      (reprinted from the website)

“There’s no better feeling here at Art House HQ than the arrival of the mail — each day brings us a slew of inspiring artwork from all over the map. The 4 x 6 Exchange is designed to share that thrill by creating an art swap on a global scale. Sign up for the project and mail us a 4” x 6” artwork and a USPS self-addressed, stamped envelope. We’ll exchange your work with another artist’s submission and surprise both of you with the results! Keep your eyes on your mailbox…”

How it works

When you have completed your artwork you send it off to the Brooklyn Archives in New York and when they get everyone’s art they throw it all in a big green garbage bag and mix it up good! (no they don’t do that really) Just had a funny picture enter into my mind..just had to share it. Then they turn around and send you a secret little piece of art back. It is very magical. The name of my piece was Heather Dreams in Technicolour. On the back of my picture I wrote a note and requested that the artist that received my picture send me an email to let me know where it landed. I have done many swaps with people all over the world and it is so exciting when you get to find out where your art is living.

What did I get??

Well! I got an email and a photo of the artist holding my piece. I was so happy!! Her name is Meredith and she lives in Los Angeles. Here is the picture she sent me. .

What secret little piece of art nubbin did I get back in the mail??

I received a tiny perfect postcard style piece of art in the mail from Maureen in Boston. She used watercolour paint for the background on heavy watercolour paper and then added the owl as a collage element. The wonderful thing is that it is really an anything goes art swap.

 I am VERY interested in swaps if anyone wants to arrange one with me. Just get my info from the contact information tab and let’s talk swap!!

Leave a Reply

