And Merlin Waved his Wand…

Merlin by Heather Gailey 2012 – Kalona’s Journal

And Merlin waved his wand and was off to Washington to visit Samantha.

I am not sure why Merlin had to “live” with me for a while, all I know is that he did. I can’t remember the exact date that I received the mystical journal from Heather, but it was definitely a couple of months ago. The same thing used to happen to me back when I was making art dolls. Sometimes if I was making a doll for someone else, I would have to keep it for a time before sending it off. It was almost as if the doll itself didn’t want to go or wasn’t ready to leave. OK…OK…you probably think I am some crazy cat lady now, taking to my dolls and my art…but…if you are an artist, I know, that you’ll know, what I mean. Sometimes we become attached to things we create in strange ways – Some creations more than others. There is really no rhyme or reason as far as I can tell. Although, if I really think about it…the art that I produce/create is part of my soul and therefore an extension of myself. Hmmmm…that is very deep for a Wednesday morning.

Here is the “almost” final picture/scan of Merlin the Wizard. The only thing that is missing is the quote that I put on the bottom right page as follows:

“The best thing for being sad,” replied Merlin, beginning to puff and blow, “is to learn something. That’s the only thing that never fails.”

It is part of a larger quote:

“The best thing for being sad,” replied Merlin, beginning to puff and blow, “is to learn something. That’s the only thing that never fails. You may grow old and trembling in your anatomies, you may lie awake at night listening to the disorder of your veins, you may miss your only love, you may see the world about you devastated by evil lunatics, or know your honour trampled in the sewers of baser minds. There is only one thing for it then — to learn. Learn why the world wags and what wags it. That is the only thing which the mind can never exhaust, never alienate, never be tortured by, never fear or distrust, and never dream of regretting. Learning is the only thing for you. Look what a lot of things there are to learn.” 
T.H. White, The Once and Future King
 
So relieved that I am done! The journal is now in an envelope ready to go to the post office.
Bye bye Merlin!
 
Leave a Reply

