Ginger prefers to wear her vegas showgirl headdress even when she is not working

OK..so…crazy title…right?? Sometimes they just come from nowhere.

Here is another 8″ x 10″ Paint and Pass that I received last week in the mail. I got mine back at the same time and I already posted it below – the one with the red bird. Here is a new paint and pass that I am the last artist to add something to before it goes home to the original artist.(tomorrow)

When It arrived it was just a page filled with all types of colourful swishes. No face, no nothing. I wondered for a moment what I would do, and then there it was in the paint…a face. Then the feather idea came – would it be a facinator hat or…? Then the final idea came to me of her being a showgirl who never wants to take off her fabulous headdress. Are you following along with my random thought process? It takes a bit, but you will get used to it. I promise. I am sorry now that I did not scan the before and after like I usually do.

Sioux’s Paint and Pass – Heather Gailey 2012

The artist that had it before me must have added some kind of waxy substance because when I put acrylic paint on the paper it never stuck. That is why the face is not skin tone, because I ended up wiping it all off. Not being able to use paint presented a challenge, so I decided to use my sharpie and my brand new Derwent Art Bars – water-soluble pastels.  They are really fun to use because they go on like a crayon yet you can add water to blend them fully like a paint. The only thing I found is that it is hard to journal over the Art Bars once they are dry because they turn back into a waxy substance, yet do not remain wet or sticky. I highly recommend them.

One of the other artists in the group sewed beads and sequins on to the page and It’s OK because as always…anything goes!

2 thoughts on “Ginger prefers to wear her vegas showgirl headdress even when she is not working

Leave a Reply

