I’ve been to London to Visit the Queen

Pussy cat, Pussy cat, where have you been? I’ve been to London to visit the Queen. Pussy cat, Pussy cat, what did you there? I frightened a little mouse under the chair….

Well…you will have noticed that I have been away for a while from my blog. It has been a busy time and not a busy time all rolled in to one. I have been teaching a lot and my day job is very stressful. Sometimes it takes all my energy just to stay upright. I have been creating, but it has been creating just for the classroom – samples of what we will be doing each class. I have not been doing much creating just for me and I believe it is a time when I could have used it.

After returning from my trip it was no surprise to those who have embarked on the same journey, that I returned a different person. Nothing seemed right…nothing fit. It was like I was displaced from my previous life and thrown into unknown waters. I know this sounds weird because you will say, but Heather it is your life. I say yes…and no.

All I truly know, is that it has been a really rough year.

As I come up to the point where I left for my adventure last year I yearn to tidy up loose ends and finish projects and get them gone! Here are a few things that I have done just recently.

I finished a round robin travelling journal entry that will be going to Harriet Hensley in Tennessee. I painted Toronto  because…Let’s face it! She would have no idea where Durham Region is. I used spray inks, collaged magazine letters, and acrylic paints in my double spread.

I also finished off a page in another journal headed for Virginia. The theme was things that you like or bring you joy. I love coffee and so I made some cups out of scrapbook papers and glued them onto the page. I used acrylic paints on the background and wrote out the words of a song by one of my fave groups the Manhattan Transfer – I love coffee, I love tea, I love my java jive and it loves me….It was a lot of fun and I really liked the colours I chose.

The last picture I worked on will go towards my many faces of women project. I have a plan to paint 52 pictures of women. I am delving in to other cultures for the next few paintings to see what flows out of me. Here is Mariel. Named by my friend Shireen.

Mariel

So you see…I have been painting. Just not sharing. I will promise to get better and post more if at all possible. Mission accomplished – 3 things done! Next!!

Artfully yours

P.S. No mice were actually harmed in the process of making this art ; )

 

Leave a Reply

